New reactors and nuclear fuels

Accelerator driven nuclear installations
> New generation fuels

Accelerator driven nuclear installations

A nuclear installation driven by a particle accelerator has a subcritical core. A subcritical reactor does not contain sufficient fissile material to maintain a chain reaction. To prevent the reactor from stopping it needs to be "fed" continually with neutrons produced via a particle accelerator.

When the latter is disconnected the chain reaction stops within a fraction of a second (one hundred thousandth) and the reactor stops. This is referred to as an accelerator driven system: ADS. Because of its high safety factor this innovative technology has a promising future.

Transmutation

Transmutation refers to the fission of long-lived elements in radioactive waste into short-lived elements. The technology can shorten the lifespan of waste by a factor of 1000. Waste that would remain radioactive for hundreds of thousands of years would in that case only pose a risk for a couple of thousand years. This transmutation can be achieved safely in a subcritical nuclear system driven by a particle accelerator. An ADS makes it possible to load up to half the core with high-level radioactive waste, which facilitates concentrated processing. MYRRHA enables us to test this concept and collate vital information for future industrial scale transmutation.

Fourth generation reactors

SCK•CEN contributes significantly to the development of a new generation of safer and more efficient nuclear reactors. We are already testing innovative materials and fuels that will be part of these installations. MYRRHA is set to take over this role in about ten years' time. MYRRHA can be considered one of the leading test rigs for these future nuclear systems.

 

Discover more about MYRRHA

New generation fuels

Many research reactors throughout the world are still operating on highly enriched uranium. Because they facilitate research into the interaction between radiation and matter, they play a vital part in the process of making nuclear energy safe. To this end a reactor requires a compact core. If highly enriched uranium were to fall into the wrong hands it could be used for the production of nuclear weapons.

It is important, therefore, to switch to low enriched fuels wherever possible, without it affecting the strength of the reactor.To do so a fuel needs to be developed with an extremely high density, preferably six times higher than enriched uranium.

This compensates for the low enrichment but ensures that the reactor maintains the same performance level. In recent years we have played a pioneering role in this type of research by testing these low enriched fuels.
 

More info: Monitoring safety of nuclear power plants

More information on our Science Platform

Nouveaux réacteurs et combustibles

> Réacteur nucléaire piloté par un accélérateur de particules
> Nouvelle génération de combustibles

Réacteur nucléaire piloté par un accélérateur de particules

Un réacteur nucléaire piloté par un accélérateur de particules possède un cœur sous-critique. Un réacteur sous-critique ne dispose pas de suffisamment de matière fissile pour entretenir la réaction en chaîne. Pour éviter l'arrêt du réacteur, ce dernier doit en permanence être "alimenté" en neutrons fabriqués par le biais d'un accélérateur.

Celui-ci une fois déconnecté, la réaction en chaîne stoppe en une fraction de seconde (plus précisément, un cent millième de seconde) et le réacteur s'arrête. Nous parlons ici d'un système piloté par accélérateur ou accelerator driven system: ADS. Cette nouvelle technologie hautement sécurisée, a un avenir prometteur.

Transmutation

La transmutation représente pour les déchets radioactifs, la transformation d'éléments de longue vie en éléments de courte vie. Cette technologie peut réduire d'un facteur 1000, la durée de vie des déchets. C'est ainsi que des déchets qui resteraient radioactifs pendant des centaines de milliers d'années, verraient leurs risques réduits à quelques milliers d'années. Cette transmutation peut s'effectuer de manière très sûre dans un système nucléaire sous-critique piloté par un accélérateur de particules. Un ADS offre la possibilité de charger la moitié du cœur du réacteur de déchets hautement radioactifs; ce qui permet une transmutation concentrée. MYRRHA permet de tester ce concept et de réunir des informations utiles pour la transmutation future à l'échelle industrielle.

Réacteurs de la quatrième génération

Le SCK•CEN contribue considérablement au développement d'une nouvelle génération de réacteurs nucléaires qui peuvent être sûrs tout en étant efficaces. Nous testons d'ores et déjà des matériaux et combustibles innovants qui doivent faire partie de ces installations: un rôle que MYRRHA reprendra dans une dizaine d'années. MYRRHA peut être considéré comme un des plus importants dispositifs d'essai pour les systèmes nucléaires futurs.

 

Découvrez tout sur MYRRHA

Nouvelle génération de combustibles

Bon nombre de réacteurs de recherche à travers le monde fonctionnent encore à l'uranium hautement enrichi. Ils jouent un rôle essentiel dans la sûreté de l'énergie nucléaire car ils permettent d'effectuer des recherches sur l'interaction entre le rayonnement et la matière. Pour ce faire, le réacteur a besoin d'un cœur compact.

Lorsque l'uranium hautement enrichi tombe entre de mauvaises mains, il peut être utilisé pour la confection d'armes nucléaires. Il est donc important de passer de manière maximale à l'usage d'un combustible faiblement enrichi sans que le réacteur ne perte en puissance pour autant.

Pour cela, un combustible à très haute densité doit être développé, de préférence six fois celle de l'uranium hautement enrichi; ceci compense le plus faible taux d'enrichissement, tout en maintenant la performance du réacteur. En testant ces combustibles faiblement enrichis, le SCK•CEN a jusqu'à ce jour, et dans ce type de recherche, le rôle de pionnier.
 

Plus d'infos: Veiller à la sûreté de nos centrales nucléaires

Plus d'information sur notre 'Science Platform' (en anglais)