Inspiration - SCK•CEN's sustainable commitment to the South

Since 2012, SCK•CEN is fully committed to Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs. This Belgian organization aims to promote sustainable economic growth in developing countries by building relationships between entrepreneurs in the North and in the South. A mission that fits perfectly with the corporate culture of our research centre, where values such as responsibility, innovation, knowledge transfer and sustainability are the heart of the organisation.

For this commitment to Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs, we have to thank first and foremost our volunteers and their motivation, who enthusiastically share their expertise and ideas. It is them who conceived and developed our project, called INSPIRATION (INtroduction of SPIRrulina in Equatorial Africa To Improve loOcal Nutrition) based on our research in the context of space exploration.  

Fight against chronic malnutrition

Through the INSPIRATION project, we aim to develop and support the cultivation of the cyanobacteria spirulina. The bacteria is highly nutritious and can therefore make an important contribution to the fight against chronic malnutrition which currently affects 43% of all children under five in Congo.

In 2015, the INSPIRATION project saw the light in the regions of Mooto and Mbandaka where the first cultivation tanks were built. Our microbiologists assisted in building the tanks, searching for adequate water sources and analysing the culture. This was done on site and remotely.

The project took a new step forward in 2007 with the start of a collaboration with the Université Pédagogique Nationale (UPN) de Kinshasa. The objective is to develop greater knowledge about the cultivation of spirulina and to create a pedagogical component to raise awareness among local population and to educate them. Next step forward, the UPN will further refine the cultivation of spirulina, increase production and process the culture, so that this can be introduced as a food supplement for malnourished children.

Become a partner

Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs and SCK•CEN are looking for partners from various regions (and countries) willing to support the project. Interested? Send an email to inspiration@sckcen.be.

Inspiration, un projet durable pour le Sud

Depuis 2012, le SCK•CEN s’engage pleinement dans Entrepreneurs pour Entrepreneurs. Cette organisation belge vise à promouvoir une croissance économique durable dans les pays en voie de développement en construisant des relations entre les entrepreneurs du Nord et du Sud. Une mission qui rejoint parfaitement la culture d’entreprise de notre centre de recherche, où les valeurs de responsabilité, d’innovation, de transfert des connaissances et de durabilité demeurent centrales.

Cet engagement dans Entrepreneurs pour Entrepreneurs, c’est avant tout celui de tous nos collaborateurs volontaires armés de leur motivation, qui ont tenu à mettre leur expertise et leurs idées à contribution. Ce sont eux qui ont imaginé et développé notre projet baptisé INSPIRATION (INtroduction of SPIRulina in Equatorial Africa To Improve lOcal Nutrition), en s’appuyant sur nos recherches menées dans le cadre des explorations spatiales. 

Lutter contre la malnutrition chronique

Avec le projet INSPIRATION, nous avons pour but de développer et soutenir la culture de la cyanobactérie appelée spiruline en République démocratique du Congo. Cette bactérie a une haute valeur nutritive et peut donc apporter une contribution importante dans la lutte contre la malnutrition chronique qui sévit actuellement au Congo et touche 43% des enfants de moins de cinq ans.

En 2015, le projet INSPIRATION a été lancé dans les régions de Mooto et Mbandaka, où les premiers bassins de culture ont été installés. Nos microbiologistes ont aidé à la construction des bassins, à la recherche de sources d’eau adéquates ainsi qu’à l’analyse de la culture. Et ce, sur place et à distance.

Le projet a pris une toute autre dimension en 2017 avec la mise en place d’une collaboration avec l’Université Pédagogique Nationale (UNP) de Kinshasa. L’objectif ? Développer des connaissances solides sur la culture de la spiruline et créer un volet pédagogique afin de sensibiliser et d’éduquer la population locale. Lors d'une prochaine étape, l’UPN affinera la culture de la spiruline, augmentera la production et transformera la culture de sorte qu’elle puisse servir de complément alimentaire et être donnée aux enfants souffrant de malnutrition.

Comment devenir partenaire ?

Entrepreneurs pour Entrepreneurs et le SCK•CEN sont à la recherche de partenaires provenant d’autres régions (ainsi que d’autres pays) souhaitant soutenir ce projet. Intéressés ? Envoyez dès lors un e-mail à inspiration@sckcen.be.