Brief presentation

SCK•CEN is one of the largest research institutions in Belgium. Every day, more than 700 employees dedicate themselves to developing peaceful applications of radioactivity. Our developments have already resulted in a long list of innovative and forward-looking applications for the medical world, industry and the energy sector. We are renowned for our expertise world-wide.

In the course of our work, there are three main research topics:

SCK•CEN collaborates with numerous research partners both at home and abroad. The work performed by SCK•CEN has a direct effect upon various aspects of our daily life. Besides our work as a research centre, we also organise training courses and offer specialist services including consultancy.

SCK•CEN company brochure

SCK•CEN company movie

More videos, photos and brochures are available in the media library

Our mission

As a foundation of public utility, the Belgian Nuclear Research Centre conducts groundbreaking research into nuclear energy and ionising radiation for civilian use, and develops nuclear technologies for socially valuable purposes. We achieve this by means of independent, fundamental and applied research, and by providing advice, training, services and products.

Our vision

SCK•CEN aims to be a leading research institution and a centre of excellence at an international level. Driven by inspired scientists and engineers, in combination with a unique infrastructure, we aim to develop innovative technologies that provide solutions for the social issues and requirements in the field of nuclear energy and ionising radiation. Safety and durability are always the key priorities.

 

 

Our values

Responsibility

  • Absolute priority to safety in all its aspects, including security and environmental impact, both in terms of research and services, and in the operation of the corporate facilities.
  • Correct use of the available resources at the service of science and society.

Excellence

  • Knowledge, expertise and the provision of services at a world-class level.
  • Research with a focus on challenges and opportunities.
  • Scientific projects and publications at the top level.

Innovation

  • Room for creativity in the presentation and development of applications and innovative projects.
  • Stimulating working environment.
  • Follow-up and systematic implementation of relevant new technologies.

Integrity

  • Correct and systematic application of the scientific method and ethics.
  • Decision-making and advisory process on the basis of scientific expertise.

Sustainability

  • Targeting the optimal use of resources and materials.
  • Contributing to solutions with regard to energy issues and the management of radioactive waste.
  • Always incorporating the societal and ethical aspects reflected in the Ethical Charter of the Centre.

An ethical charter as guide

SCK•CEN has renewed its ethical charter in 2009. All employees were given the opportunity to participate in internal debates about the nature and content of this important document. The final charter, approved by all of our employees, goes beyond traditional values ​​such as mutual collaboration and transparency to the outside world.

The ethical charter serves as a guide because it shows how we, as an institution and as an individual contributor, should manage technologies which have unavoidable risks and many opposing views in our society.

For SCK•CEN this document is more than an internal work instrument. It is a text that should generate a permanent reflection, not only internally, but also in discussion with the outside world. Thus we are open to any kind of feedback.

SCK•CEN ethical charter

More info: SCK•CEN for you - Your choice for the future

Brève présentation

Le SCK•CEN constitue l'un des plus grands centres de recherche de Belgique. Plus de 700 collaborateurs se consacrent quotidiennement au développement d'applications pacifiques de la radioactivité.  Nos développements sont le fruit d'une longue liste d'applications orientées vers le futur, applications destinées au monde médical, industriel et au secteur de l'énergie. Notre expertise est de notoriété internationale.

Trois thèmes de recherche caractérisent nos activités:

Le SCK•CEN travaille en étroite collaboration avec bon nombre de partenaires tant nationaux qu'internationaux. Le fonctionnement du SCK•CEN a, dans de nombreux domaines, une influence directe sur la vie quotidienne de notre société.  Outre son activité de centre de recherche, le SCK•CEN organise également des formations et met à disposition ses services et son expertise.

Brochure corporative du SCK•CEN

Film d'entreprise du SCK•CEN

Vous trouverez plus de vidéos, photos et brochures dans notre mediathèque

Notre mission

Le SCK•CEN effectue, en tant que Fondation d'Utilité Publique, des recherches qui ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives à l'énergie nucléaire et aux rayonnements ionisants pour des applications civiles et développe des technologies nucléaires à des fins de grande valeur sociale. Le Centre d'Etude de l'Energie Nucléaire réalise cela grâce à une recherche indépendante, fondamentale et appliquée et en proposant des conseils, des formations, des services et des produits.

Notre vision

Le SCK•CEN souhaite être un centre de recherche qui fait autorité dans son domaine et un centre d'excellence au niveau international. Grâce aux efforts de scientifiques et d'ingénieurs inspirés, combinés à une infrastructure unique, le SCK•CEN vise à développer des technologies innovantes pour répondre aux questions sociales et aux besoins dans le domaine de l'énergie nucléaire et des rayonnements ionisants. Sécurité et durabilité y sont toujours prioritaires.

 

Nos valeurs

Responsabilité

  • Priorité absolue pour la sûreté dans tous ses aspects, y compris la sécurité et l’impact environnemental, tant comme sujets de recherche et de prestations de services, qu’en ce qui concerne l’exploitation de ses propres installations.
  • Utilisation rigoureuse des moyens disponibles au service de la science et de la société.

Excellence

  • Connaissances, expertise et prestations de service de niveau mondial.
  • Recherche orientée vers les défis et les opportunités.
  • Projets et publications scientifiques du plus haut niveau.

Innovation

  • Espace pour la créativité dans la proposition et l’élaboration d’applications et de projets innovants.
  • Environnement de travail stimulant.
  • Suivi et mise en œuvre systématiques des nouvelles technologies pertinentes.

Intégrité

  • Application rigoureuse et systématique de la méthode et de l’éthique scientifique.
  • Processus de décision et fourniture d’avis s’appuyant sur l’expertise scientifique.

Durabilité

  • Viser l’utilisation optimale des moyens et des matériaux.
  • Apporter une contribution à la problématique énergétique et à la solution pour la gestion des déchets radioactifs.
  • Inclure les aspects sociaux et éthiques, comme exprimé dans la charte éthique du Centre.

Une charte éthique comme fil conducteur

Le SCK•CEN a renouvelé sa charte éthique en 2009. L'occasion pour l'ensemble des collaborateurs de participer à des débats internes sur la nature et le contenu de cet important document. Approuvée par tous nos collaborateurs, la charte finale va au-delà des valeurs traditionnelles telles que la collaboration mutuelle et la transparence vers le monde extérieur.

La charte éthique sert aussi de fil conducteur car elle nous indique comment en qualité d'institution et en tant que collaborateur individuel, appréhender une technologie qui porte en soi des risques inéluctables et suscite au sein de notre société bon nombre d'opinions divergentes.

Pour le SCK•CEN, ce document représente bien plus qu'un instrument de travail interne. Il s'agit d'un texte qui doit susciter en permanence une réflexion. Non seulement en interne, mais aussi vers le monde extérieur. Nous sommes d'ailleurs ouverts à toute forme de réponse.

Charte éthique SCK•CEN

Plus d'infos: SCK•CEN pour vous - Votre choix pour l'avenir